This website uses technical and assimilated cookies as well as user-profiling third party cookies in a grouped format to simplify online navigation and to protect the use of services. To find out more or to refuse consent to the use of one or any of the cookies, click here. Closing this banner, browsing this page or clicking on anything will be taken as consent to the use of cookies.


Structure of the Embassy

The Embassy of the Order to the Most Serene Republic of San Marino has its seat in Serravalle.

The Embassy is composed by three diplomats:

– Ambassador Marcello Celestini
– Minister Counsellor Giuseppe Ragini
– Counsellor Gioacchino Quadri di Cardano

Every State celebrates the “National Day”. For the Sovereign Order of Malta this event is on June, 24th for the Feast of St. John the Baptist, Patron of the Order of Malta.

The Embassy celebrates St. John the Baptist with a Holy Mass followerd by a reception where all the accredited Ambassadors seating in San Marino are invited, together with Sanmarinese institutions and authorities.


List of Representatives / Ambassadors of the Order of Malta to the Republic of San Marino

  • Conte Filippo Gramatica di Bellagio, Patrizio di San Marino (1935)
  • Nobile Felice Restelli, Conte della Fratta (l.c. 3 September 1961)
  • Conte Don Alberto di Castelbarco Albani Visconti Simonetta dei Principi di Montignano (chargé d’affaires l.c. 11 gennaio 1980, with rank of ambassador since 20 June 1985)
  • Don Guido d’Aquino di Caramanico, Principe di San Severo (l.c. 30 September 1986)
  • Nobile Franco Ferretti, Conte di Val d’Era (l.c. 29 September 2001)
  • Mr. Pierre Blanchard (l.c. 10 September 2009)
  • Prof. Marcello Celestini (l.c. 12 September 2019)

Embassy of the Sovereign Order of Malta to San Marino

Strada Borrana, 4, 47899, Serravalle - San Marino

Tel: +378 0549/908808 - Email: [email protected]